top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarta

VEGAN CUSTARD

When I went vegan I kewn I needed to create a vegan version of the custard because all my favourite cakes and pastries contain custard, i takes me few months but I made it!

This recipe is really clean and easy to do and has only easy to find ingredients.

You know I don't like to talk about 'fit recipes' but this one is hands down the most 'fit' custard you can find in town because all the fats are gone! Just one of the multiples benefits of being vegan. But lets talk about the serius stuff: this custard is vegan and it's DELICIOUS! These are the only things that matter!

Let's start :)





Ingredients:


- 500 g of soya milk - 60 g flour (I used ‘00’, but ‘0’ is fine too)

- 60 g of sugar (or 65 g if you want it to be a bit sweeter) - 4 strips of lemon peel - a pinch of vanilla powder (or vanilla extract) - a pinch of turmeric - a pinch of salt Preparation method:

Add milk and lemon peel into a medium sized saucepan and set to a low heat. Separately, mix the flour (sifted), sugar, tumeric, salt and vanilla powder in a bowl (if using vanilla extract then add this to the saucepan instead). Remove lemon peels from warm milk. Slowly add the warm milk in small amounts to the mix in the bowl while stirring. Stir until you have a thick creamy consistency without lumps and then slowly add the rest of the milk in small amounts. Transfer the mixture back to a saucepan, set to a low heat and SLOWLY stir in one direction until the custard thickens. I used the custard to make small pastries; with puff pastry for the base and adding fresh fruit on top. For the base, I pierced the pastry and placed stacked cupcakes cases on top to prevent the pastry rising too much during baking. But you can use the custard for anything you like!


Love, Marta ♥

153 views0 comments
bottom of page